Database by Title | Subject

General Databases

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

ArticleFirst

Contains bibliographic citations describing items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

Britannica Online

The Online version of the classic Encyclopedia Britannica that also includes web links, select articles and access to Webster's Dictionary.

Chicago Tribune

Comprehensive coverage back to 1985 is available for the Chicago Tribune through ProQuest. The Chicago Tribune keeps readers informed of the latest news from the Chicago area, the nation and the world every day. Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly. Items such items as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are also indexed. For each article cited in the database, an abstract helps the researcher know if the complete text will meet his or her needs.

Chicago Tribune Historical Archive

Images and full text of historical international, national, regional, and local issues and events, such as major wars and military actions, emerging nations, prohibition, Chicago gangsters, Great Depression, and Chicago as the center of the Progressive movement. Full text of death notices and obituaries.

Chronicle of Higher Education

Weekly news and job-information source for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students.

Credo Reference

Credo Reference is an online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics, such as art, business, literature, and science. Thousands of images and audio pronunciation files are included.

Films on Demand

Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group. Thousands of videos are available for in-class use and remote viewing from the library or at home. Special features built into the platform allow you to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, and store quick links to favorite videos.

LexisNexis Academic

LexisNexis Academic provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications. Access over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. It is a standard element in many research and information literacy programs.

Naxos Music Library

The Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive classical music library online. In conjunction with hundreds of other top music labels, it contains titles spanning medieval music to modern, jazz, electronic, world music, pop, rock, and more; making it an unrivaled streaming music resource. The Naxos Music Library is continuously updated with new labels added monthly and hundreds of CD’s added each year.

Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale)

Covers social issues and current events. Contains viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, as well as links to more than 1,000 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.

Oxford English Dictionary

The new Oxford English Dictionary Online provides access to the wealth of material contained in the acclaimed 20-volume Second Edition of the Oxford English Dictionary and the 3 volumes of Additions.

PapersFirst

Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.

WorldCAT Dissertations

All dissertations, theses and published material based on theses cataloged by OCLC members, including all subjects.