Database by Title | Subject

Humanities Databases

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Art and Architecture in Video

Art and Architecture in Video delivers over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis.

ArticleFirst

Contains bibliographic citations describing items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

ARTstor

ARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

Britannica Online

The Online version of the classic Encyclopedia Britannica that also includes web links, select articles and access to Webster's Dictionary.

Chicago Tribune

Comprehensive coverage back to 1985 is available for the Chicago Tribune through ProQuest. The Chicago Tribune keeps readers informed of the latest news from the Chicago area, the nation and the world every day. Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly. Items such items as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are also indexed. For each article cited in the database, an abstract helps the researcher know if the complete text will meet his or her needs.

Chicago Tribune Historical Archive

Images and full text of historical international, national, regional, and local issues and events, such as major wars and military actions, emerging nations, prohibition, Chicago gangsters, Great Depression, and Chicago as the center of the Progressive movement. Full text of death notices and obituaries.

Chronicle of Higher Education

Weekly news and job-information source for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students.

Classical Music in Video

Classical Music from Alexander Street supports the teaching and research of classical music with coverage of all major genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas and the avant-garde.

Films on Demand

Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group. Thousands of videos are available for in-class use and remote viewing from the library or at home. Special features built into the platform allow you to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, and store quick links to favorite videos.

Harper

Full-text articles and images from the 1857-1912 Harper's Weekly magazine covering the Civil War through the Gilded Age periods of American history.

LexisNexis Academic

LexisNexis Academic provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications. Access over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. It is a standard element in many research and information literacy programs.

Literary Reference Center Plus

A full-text database provides the most relevant information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Combining information from major reference works, books, literary journals, and original content from EBSCO, it features an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries & work overviews, full-text essays, literary reference books & monographs, literary magazines & journals, book reviews, poems, short stories, classic texts, and author interviews.

MagillOnLiterature Plus

MagillOnLiterature Plus contains editorially reviewed critical essays, brief plot summaries, extended character profiles, and detailed setting discussions covering works by more than 8,500 long and short fiction writers, poets, dramatists, essayists, and philosophers.

MAS Ultra - School Edition

This comprehensive database, designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for more than 500 popular, high school magazines including America's Civil War, American Heritage, American History, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers & Colleges, Civil War Times, Congressional Digest, Discover, Economist, History Today, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American, Smithsonian, World War II, etc. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 85,670 biographies and 105,786 primary source documents. Additionally, MAS Ultra School Edition contains more than 360 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), an Image Collection of 440,207 photos, maps & flags.

Naxos Music Library

The Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive classical music library online. In conjunction with hundreds of other top music labels, it contains titles spanning medieval music to modern, jazz, electronic, world music, pop, rock, and more; making it an unrivaled streaming music resource. The Naxos Music Library is continuously updated with new labels added monthly and hundreds of CD’s added each year.

Newspaper Source

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selective full text for 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale)

Covers social issues and current events. Contains viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, as well as links to more than 1,000 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites.

PapersFirst

Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.

Proceedings

Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. Contains in each record a list of the papers presented at each conference.

WorldCAT Dissertations

All dissertations, theses and published material based on theses cataloged by OCLC members, including all subjects.