Database by Title | Subject

History Databases

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

American History in Video

A streaming video resource for the study of American history containing original newsreel footage, documentaries, public service announcements, dramatizations, and interviews.

ArticleFirst

Contains bibliographic citations describing items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

Chicago Tribune

Comprehensive coverage back to 1985 is available for the Chicago Tribune through ProQuest. The Chicago Tribune keeps readers informed of the latest news from the Chicago area, the nation and the world every day. Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly. Items such items as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are also indexed. For each article cited in the database, an abstract helps the researcher know if the complete text will meet his or her needs.

Chicago Tribune Historical Archive

Images and full text of historical international, national, regional, and local issues and events, such as major wars and military actions, emerging nations, prohibition, Chicago gangsters, Great Depression, and Chicago as the center of the Progressive movement. Full text of death notices and obituaries.

ECO

OCLC Electronic Collections Online (ECO). An OCLC collection of scholarly journals. ECO indexes academic and professional journals in the fields of: agriculture, anthropology, business, economics, education, fine arts, geography, history, language, law, library science, literature, medicine, philosophy, political science, psychology, science, social science, and technology.

Films on Demand

Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group. Thousands of videos are available for in-class use and remote viewing from the library or at home. Special features built into the platform allow you to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, and store quick links to favorite videos.

Harper

Full-text articles and images from the 1857-1912 Harper's Weekly magazine covering the Civil War through the Gilded Age periods of American history.

Newspaper Source

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selective full text for 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

World History in Video

World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. Geographical coverage includes Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.

WorldCAT Dissertations

All dissertations, theses and published material based on theses cataloged by OCLC members, including all subjects.